Mill CEO Robin Shenfield to chair 2018 AICP Show

Robin Shenfield

Robin Shenfield

Matt Miller, President and CEO of AICP, announced yesterday that Robin Shenfield, Co-Founder and CEO of The Mill, will serve as Chairperson of the 2018 AICP Show: The Art & Technique of the American Commercial.

As Show Chair, Shenfield will oversee the AICP Show Committee, which is responsible for promoting and marketing the AICP Show, as well as facilitating the judging process and selection of judges.

He will also spearhead the selection of companies providing content for the AICP Show reel and serve on the the Board of Governors, which is the final arbiter of the show.

The AICP Show is one of the tent-pole events of the popular AICP Week, which also includes the debut of the AICP Next Awards and various creative and educational sessions at the AICP Week Base Camp. Each year’s AICP Show is made a part of the permanent archive of the Department of Film at The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York.

Shenfield believes, with good reason, that the show has now become the industry standard for honoring craft and creativity.

“Having participated in the AICP Show Curatorial Committee several times, I can attest to the AICP Show being the industry standard,” he says. “The rigorous process to become a Show honoree reflects its high standards.”

The new chair started The Mill in the U.K. in 1990 with 30 employees; today it has over 1,000 in offices in London, New York, Chicago and Los Angeles. The company has created award-winning work for the likes of Audi, Verizon, adidas, Volkswagen, John Lewis, BMW, and Nike.

“Robin personifies the evolution of production,” Matt Miller told Reel Chicago. “Having built one of the great global digital production companies over the past three decades he [Shenfield] has a unique position and perspective in the industry. His vision has garnered nearly 40 winning pieces in AICP Shows, and earned him unsurpassed respect from his peers.”

Shenfield will lead a show committee that consists of who’s who of the industry —

Zu Al-Kadiri, The Mill;
Marlene Bartos, Yessian;
Roe Bressan, Navigating;
Craig Duncan, Cutters Studios;
Ray Foote, Big Foote;
Shane Harris, Content Chemics;
Carolyn Hill, Carolyn Reps;
Barrie Isaacson, Barrie Isaacson Mgmt;
Adam Isidore, Taylor James;
Becky Jungmann, Mischief;
Chris Karabas, Rock House Entertainment;
Julian Katz, Mother;
Enca Kaul, The Mill;
Trevor King, RSA Films;
Charlie McBrearty, Shortlist;
Jessica Millington, Bandit|Butter|Mr. Bronx|Scout|Honor Society;
Anthony Nelson, JWT;
Dante Piacenza, Mcgarrybowen;
Sarah Roebuck, Final Cut; Denise Blate Roederer;
RHODA; Adina Sales, Blacklist;
Jennifer Siegel, Framestore Pictures;
Doug Stephen, Doug Stephen & Partners;
Stephanie Stephens, Stephanie Stephens Reps;
and Cara Wenig, Barrie Isaacson Mgmt. AICP Week

Call for Entries

The Call for Entries to the AICP Show is now open. The deadline to enter work is March 9, 2018; eligibility dates are: February 27, 2017 – March 4, 2018. This year, there is a new pricing structure for and revise categories. To learn more, click here.

AICP Week will take place in New York this June. Stay tuned to Reel Chicago as we cover the AICP shows and the Next awards throughout the country.

Contact Colin Costello at or follow him on Twitter @colincostello10.