Mark Androw receives AICP’s highest honor

Mark Androw and Matt Miller

Mark Androw and Matt Miller

The legendary Chicago
producer and
entrepreneur was
presented with the
Jay B. Eisenstat Award
during last night’s
AICP Show in NYC

STORY co-founder and Executive Producer Mark Androw received the Jay B. Eisenstat Award at last night’s AICP Show in New York City.

Almost single-handedly responsible for making AICP one of the most effective and enjoyable organizations in the Chicago production and post community, Androw stepped down as AICP Midwest President in 2019.

Besides serving in several executive capacities for the organization since becoming active with it in the 1980s, Androw grew STORY into a respected and busy production company and helped put Chicago on the international production map.

AICP President and Chief Executive Officer Matt Miller presented Androw with the Jay B. Eisenstat Award during last night’s ceremony. Read his fitting introduction below.

ALSO READ: Mark Androw’s post-AICP agenda

AICP President Matt Miller introduces Mark Androw

The Jay B. Eisenstat Award is the AICP’s highest honor. Established in 1990, the award is named for Jay Eisenstat, one of the founders of AICP, who 47 years ago recognized that in unifying commercial producers, they could work more effectively with marketers, agencies, and suppliers, allowing the industry to grow and prosper.

His vision is the foundation upon which the AICP is based and is as relevant today as it was in 1972.

Mark Androw
Mark Androw

As you can see, the list behind me is made up of individuals who have helped define this industry through their individual accomplishments and selfless giving through their work in this organization.

We are presenting the Award tonight to someone who truly embodies the spirit in which this award was established—not given every year—only given when truly earned.

This person has served in many capacities at AICP for over 37 years.

Active in the AICP Midwest Chapter since 1982

AICP Midwest Chapter President from 1996-2003, returning for a second tour of duty from 2011-2018

AICP National Board Vice Chairman for four years

AICP National Board Chairman for two years

AICP National Board Treasurer from 1996-2003, and again from 2011-2018

Served on six AICP Show Curatorial Committees

A Trustee for Directors Guild of America (DGA) Commercial Qualifications Administration (CQA)

A Trustee on the Board of the Producers’ Health Benefits Plan (PHBP) since its inception in 2007

A Charter Member of the Illinois Production Alliance, which lobbied for the Illinois Film Tax Credit, which came into being in 2004, and continues today.

A member of the negotiating committee for the AICP/DGA contract in 2001, 2005, 2009, 2011, 2014 and 2017

A member of the negotiating committee for the AICP/IATSE in 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2019

Negotiating committee for Chicago’s IA 476 agreement in 2004, 2007, 2010, 2012, 2016 and 2019

A graduate of NYU’s film school, and graduate of DePaul University Law School. He is a licensed attorney in Illinois, having passed the bar in 1979.

Oh, and he has a day job, running STORY, which he founded in 1989, and subsequently founded The Joneses, Area 51, and Accomplice Media.

Ladies and gentlemen, it is my honor to present the Jay B. Eisenstat Award to a valued friend and a true champion of our industry: Mark Androw.

Send your award-winning updates to Reel Chicago Editor Dan Patton,