I-Cubed’s Arturo only local editor to score among top 12 AICE winners

While three Chicago editors ranked among the 34 finalists in the 3rd Annual AICE award show held May 13, only I-Cubed’s Arturo Cubacub rode into the elite winners’ circle of 13.

Arturo’s spot for Hearthland Health/BVK Milwaukee tied with a Dallas editor also for a local health institution. Arturo was also among the three Chicago finalists with a Wrangler/2×4 spot. The others were Red Car’s Greg Sundmark for his Windsprint/McDonald’s spot, and Swell’s Ed Maroney for Maersk Shipping Co. spec spot.

Six hundred editors, directors and agency execs turned out for the show, called “Editors Unveiled,” held at the Cadillac Club in Soldier Field?and the first time local AICE hosted the awards?to honor the skills and contributions of editors to effective commercials.

Three Chicago editors regarded as editing community founding fathers ? Optimus’ founder Jimmy Smyth, who also was an AICE founder, Edit Chicago’s Tony Izzo and Post Pro’s Bob Blanford ? were inducted into the 2004 AICE National Hall.

Santa Monica/L.A. houses scored the most awards with six. Editor Hank Corwin of Santa Monica’s Lost Planet won three for Hewitt-Packard; Rick Lobo of Lux won for MTV and Jason Painter, Jigsaw Editorial for Reebok.

New York editors went home with five awards: Chris Franklin of Big Sky won three for Food Network; Stephane Dumonceau, Mad River Post for ESPN; Tom Scherma, Cosmo Street for American Legacy.

Tied with Arturo was Dallas editor Doug Bryan of Post Op for Medical City.

Local chapter president is Optimus’ Tom Duff.

Extra: Swell’s Ed Maroney wove his spec spot out of 16mm footage given to him by L.A. DP Pete Warilow who had shot throughout Europe and Asia for a corporate film for the international Maersk Shipping Co. “Pete gave me the footage and said, ?here, put something together with this and I’ll be back in two weeks,'” said Maroney. And so he did. The spot probably won’t air, but it did give the editor national recognition.