Chicago orders quarantine from high risk COVID states


On Thursday, July 2, Chicago Department of Public Health Commissioner Allison Arwady, M.D., issued an Emergency Travel Order directing travelers entering or returning to Chicago from states experiencing a surge in new COVID-19 cases to quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state.

The Order will go into effect on Monday July 6, 2020, at 12:01am. The order applies to states that have a case rate greater than 15 new COVID-19 cases per 100,000 resident population, per day, over a 7- day rolling average. Read the full orderNo. 2020-10

States Currently Covered by the Order

When the order goes into effect on July 6, travelers from the following states will be directed to quarantine upon arrival in Chicago: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah.


With total confirmed 2,735,554 Covid-19 cases in the US, numbers are on the rise again as many states have withdrawn lockdown relaxations and imposed stay-at-home orders.

Globally, the total confirmed cases of Covid-19 have reached over 10,835,000 with over 509,000 deaths and 5,253,000 recoveries.

SIGN UP: Sign up for our FREE e-lert here.  Stay on top of the latest advertising, film, TV, entertainment and production news!