Cast your online vote for MIFF’s “Best of Midwest”

The judges have admirably performed in naming some 20 films and filmmakers they deem worthy of competing for the “2014 Best of the Midwest” showcased by the Midwest Independent Film Festival this past year.

Now it’s up to you to vote for the winners. The “Best” in nine categories will be honored at the awards gala Tuesday, Dec. 4 at Underground. 

The winners of November’s MWFF’s “Ad Community Shorts Night” also appear among the “Best” competitors: Odd Machine’s first place “The Scumbag Barbers of Rotterdam,” Detroit director Oksana Mirzoyan’s second place “140 Drams” and the Minneapolis Olson team’s third place “Hoppy Hour.”

The film that apparently most impressed the judges was Collin Schiffli’s “Animals,” leading with seven nominations out of nine categories.  Billy Federighi’s “Adventures in the Sin Bin” follows with six nods.  Joe Swanberg’s “Happy Christmas” has four places on the list, including one for “Best Feature.”

And the nominees are:

Best Music Video

Shadow, directed by Ryan O’Hara Theisen

Unbreakable Pocket Comb, directed by Justin Reid Tvedt

Am I Awake, directed by Paul Swiatek 
Best Short Film 

The Scumbag Barbers of Rotterdam, directed by Seth Henrikson

Hoppy Hour, directed by Tyrna O’Hara Theisen

140 Drams, directed by Oksana Mirzoyan

The Alphabet Conspiracy, directed by Chris Anderson

Apartment Guy, created by Bill Boehler

Offsides, directed by Titania Holliman

Bad Ambulance, directed by Daniel Klein

Ree, directed by Juan Camilo Moore

Best Editing 

Amanda Griffin, Animals

Adam Pillon, 140 Drams

Craig Lewandowski, Adventures in the Sin Bin

Mike Turner, Hoppy Hour

Bill Kersey, The Starfish Throwers

Best Actress

Katie Oellerich, The Cold and the Quiet

Alana Grelyak, MagiCATastrophe

Sayjal Joshi, The Mayor’s Aide

Ilyssa Fradin, Animals

Best Cinematography 
Chris Vinopal, The Cold and the Quiet

Ben Derico, Ree

Jeffrey Bloom, The Wake

Pete Biagi, Bad Ambulance

Jesse Roesler, The Starfish Throwers

Seth Henrikson, The Scumbag Barbers of Rotterdam

Best Screenplay

Christopher Storer, Adventures in the Sin Bin

David Dastmalchian, Animals

Oksana Mirzoyan, 140 Drams

Bill Boehler, Apartment Guy

Jim Kozyra and Chris Petlak, The Jamz

Todd Sklar and Alex Rennie, Awful Nice

Best Actor

Alex Rennie, Awful Nice

Joe Swanberg, Happy Christmas

David Dastmalchian, Animals

Chance Bone, Adventures in the Sin Bin

Bill Boehler, Apartment Guy

Kris Flanagan, MagiCATastrophe

Malcom Banks, Offsides

Best Director

Oksana Mirzoyan, 140 Drams

Joe Swanberg, Happy Christmas

Billy Federighi, Adventures in the Sin Bin

Colleen Griffen Chappelle, The Cold and the Quiet

Todd Sklar, Awful Nice

Collin Schiffli, Animals

David Boone Wilson and AJ Schnack, We Always Lie to Strangers

Jesse Roesler, The Starfish Throwers

Best Feature 

Adventures in the Sin Bin, directed by Billy Federighi

Awful Nice, directed by Todd Sklar

The Cold and the Quiet, directed by Colleen Griffen

We Always Lie to Strangers, directed by David Boone Wilson and A.J. Schnack

Animals, directed by Collin Schiffli

The Starfish Throwers, directed by Jesse Roesler

Happy Christmas, directed by Joe Swanberg

Voting closes at 11:59 p.m. Nov. 24.

Tickets are $50 and may be purchased here.