Bob Hudgins heads new IFP board; executive director Cowing resigns

Executive director Rebekah Cowing will leave IFP/Chicago after four years, and the IFO’s Bob Hudgins now heads IFP’s new board of directors.

After nearly four years at IFP/Chicago, Cowing said she wants to “do something more creative and explore other options,” she said. She will exit April 1, giving the newly appointed board time to name her replacement and assure a seamless transition.

The IFP board formed a search committee to find her replacement and welcomes candidates’ resumes. Inquiries should be directed to the IFP/Chicago office, 33 W. Congress Pkwy., suite 505, Chicago 60605.

Twenty persons have been named to IFP/Chicago’s board of directors to represent the 400-member, 20-year old organization. Hudgins, who replaces Dan Moore as board president, said their mission will be to increase membership and offer new and valuable events. IFP/Chicago’s main event is an annual filmmakers conference held in early November. Screenings are held frequently throughout the year.

New officers are Bob Hudgins, IFO; first VP, Noel Olken, Waitergonebad Productions; second VP, Christina Varotsis, Firefly Films; secretary, attorney Tim Kelley; treasurer, Kit Woods, SAG.

Board members are Nicole Bernardi-Reis, Eightball Films; Cadichon, Midwest Talent; Michael Caplan, Columbia College; Claire Connelly, producer; Ericka Frederick, Kodak; John Haderlein, IFA; Karon Hamlet, Visions Blu; Manuela Hung, Filmworkers/Astro Lab; Leigh Jones, producer; Scott Lindenberger, Fletcher Street Media; Dan Moore, DGA; Kevin O’Connor, Fletcher Chicago; Melinda Roenisch, MDR Films; Jill Wigal, PR consultant; Sharon Zurek, Black Cat Productions.

Alternate board members: Tim Malenock, Chicago Collegiate Film Festival; Dirk Matthews, Columbia College; John Mossman, director; Heather Ronkoske, RAH Producers Center and Nicole Walberg, Million Ways Productions.

IFP/Chicago’s phone number is 312/435-1825.