Biggest attendance yet expected at AICP Show

The annual AICP Show, the industry’s giant grand finale party, expects 1,200-1,500 guests when it arrives Thursday, Nov. 20, at the Chicago Cultural Center, the third city on its annual year-end tour of 10 major US advertising markets.

Kansas City is the first stop on itinerary, for the first time, Nov. 6, as the AICP Midwest chapter reaches out to embrace more Midwest advertising markets, according to chapter president, STORY’s Mark Androw.

The 2014 Show Reel showcases 23 categories of winners, highlighting up to three of the best work in each category.

Screening starts at 6 p.m., followed by refreshments in the Claudia Cassidy Theatre. AICP’s famous cocktail reception runs from 6:30-midnight.

Freelance producer Gayle McCormick is again producing the can’t miss-Chicago Show, where agency and production communities mingle socially while enjoying drinks and snacks. 

Protokulture produced the Show’s opening and Earhole scored the music. Tickets are $175 and may be purchased here.

AICP chapter president / STORY executive producer Mark AndrowAdding the Kansas City Show to the itinerary was Androw’s idea.  Earlier this year, the Midwest Chapter embraced Detroit and Milwaukee for the first time and showcasing the 2013 winners’ reel.

“These markets have vibrant advertising communities and the creatives are always looking to be inspired by good work. It’s hard to find this caliber of interesting and inspiring work outside the ACIP Show,” Androw says.

Between 200 and 300 guests, who were also invited from St. Louis and Omaha, are expected to attend the Show at Kansas City’s prestigious Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.  Show producer is Chicago’s Quriosity Productions’ producer Jenny Lumpkin, a Kansas City native. Quriosity is the Show’s title sponsor.

Screening of Show Reel starts at 7 p.m. and the cocktail party convenes until 10 p.m.

MJZ was the leading 2014 winner with nine honors; Folke Film garnered six and Bisquit Filmworks, Furlined and Park Pictures each received four. Among directors, Andreas Nilsson of Folke Films had the most honors, with six.

The five top agency winners were Wieden + Kennedy with 14 honors; BBDO New York, eight; Forsman & Bodenfors, six; Droga5, five and Barton F. Graf 9000 with four.