AMP sets date for 2020 AMP Awards

The AMP Awards for Music & Sound has announced their date and venue for the 2020 gala awards presentation, honoring excellence in music and sound for brands in all media. Sponsored by the Association of Music Producers (, the show will take place on Tuesday, May 19, 2020, and returns for the second time to the incredible venue, Sony Hall in New York.

An official AMP Awards Call for Entries, which signals the opening of its online entry portal, will be announced early next year, to be followed by more news about the competition, including naming of the AMP Awards Show Chair, its Curatorial Committee and its inductee into the AMP Hall of Fame.

The 2019 AMP Awards show was a sold-out affair and included a number of major highlights. Apple was honored with induction into the AMP Hall of Fame, where it was recognized for Outstanding Achievement in the Use of Music to Define the Brand. It joined a list of past honorees that includes Mars, Inc., Volkswagen, Coca-Cola, McDonald’s, Budweiser, Nike, Chevrolet and Pepsi.

The Best of Show Award was presented to “Fearlessness,” a riveting spot showcasing what it takes for reporters at The New York Times to get to the heart of a vital news story. Created by Droga 5 and entered by Wave Studios, it also won in the categories of Best Sound Design and Outstanding Mix.

The AMP Awards also honored the late Ryan Barkan, who co-launched the music department at Droga5 with Music Supervisor Mike Ladman, by renaming the Most Effective Use of Music in a Campaign award as the Ryan Barkan Award for Most Effective Use of Music in a Campaign. It was won by Venn Arts for its work for Jaybird and Camp 4 Collective.

Also honored by AMP were Lyle Greenfield of BANG Music and industry veteran Jeff Rosner, who were presented with trophies in recognition of their tireless efforts to launch the AMP Awards for Music & Sound in 2013.

True to its name, the AMP Awards – which bills itself as the loudest show in the industry – featured lots of music. Before the show, DJ sets were performed by Droga 5’s Ladman and by Jay Wadley, Co-Founder of the New York music house Found Objects. Opening the event was the Brooklyn-based artist Idgy Dean, who brought her one-woman performance style to the Sony Hall stage. Later in the show there was a performance by the Austin, TX-based Kraken Quartet. And closing out the show were DJ sets performed by Hang the DJ, aka Francis Garcia of Shout It Out Loud Music (a 2019 AMP Award winner for Best Use of a Sonic Logo/ID) and Charlie Davis, Director of Sync at BMG.

The AMP Awards is the only juried advertising contest to focus on the unique contributions made to the industry by creators and producers of music and sound. Judged by agency, label, publishing and music production professionals, the AMP Awards presents trophies in 11 unique categories, as well as a Best In Show honor chosen by its Curatorial Committee.

For more information on AMP, visit, or visit its Facebook page here. To view past winners of the AMP Awards, go to

PHOTO Vicky Ferraro, EP of Wave Studios in New York, which won Best in Show for “Fearless” for The New York Times and Droga5; AMP President Elad Marish of Swell Music + Sound; and AMP Show Chair Katy Hornaday, EVP, Executive Creative Director at Barkley.

About AMP
The Association of Music Producers ( was founded in 1997 for the purpose of educating its members, as well as the production, advertising and media communities, on all facets of music production, from creation to final use. A national organization, it has chapters in New York and Los Angeles and member representation in cities across the country. From business matters such as production guidelines, composer royalties and music rights agreements to educational seminars, fund-raising events and the industry’s most respected celebration of excellence – The AMP Awards – AMP has turned up the volume on the things that matter most.

Send your music updates to Reel Chicago Editor Dan Patton,