14 indie made TV shows earn Midwest Emmy nominations

Not as many non-broadcaster-produced shows received 2012 Midwest Chapter Emmy nominations this season as they had in past years.  Still, approximately 14 companies, especially multiple nominees Bitter Jester and HMH Media, had award-worthy spots, docs and craft skills to qualify for an Emmy nod. 

Here are the non-broadcast nominees in nine out of 22 categories of endeavor, with some winning more than one nod for the project.  The producer/host/reporter receives the award.

Category #11-b- Outstanding Achievement for Special Event Coverage – Edited

  •  2011 Chicago Restaurant Pastry Competition: Nicolas DeGrazia, Daniel Kullman, Producers; Jimmy MacMillan, Julie MacMillan, Executive Producers. JMPUREPASTRY and Bitter Jester Creative.

Category #12- Outstanding Achievement for Arts/Entertainment Programming – Program/ Special/Series/Feature/Segment.

  •  Dance For Life: Scott Silberstein, Producer. HMS Media

Category #14- Outstanding Achievement for Human Interest Programming – Program/ Special/Series/Feature/Segment.

  •  Never an Excuse to Quit: Louis Pierce, Producer; Steve Lotter, Co-Producer. Big Idea Company

Category #15- Outstanding Achievement for Community/Public Service (PSAs) – Single Spot/Campaign.

  • One Boy’s Story: Colin Carter, Stefan Draht, Mike Greiner, Brooks Ruyle, Brett Schnacky, Kate Soczka, Producers. Mode Project.  Also: Graphics Arts/Animation/Art Direction/Set Design, Stefan Draht, Brett Schnacky
  •  See Yourself In A Different Light: Jeff McCarter, Executive Producer; Christiana Santos, Supervising Producer; Tim McBride, Ramon Campos, Lamar Allen, Jovan Brown, Ronald Reese, Johnny Thrower, Miguel Campos, Rhondel Payton, Producers. Free Spirit Media
  • See Me: Jim Rivett, Executive Producer; Shelly Young, Jason Davis, Producers. Arketype Inc
  • Invest An Acre: Louis Pierce, Producer. Big Idea Company

Category #17- Outstanding Achievement for Commercials – Single Spot.

  •  Ravinia Festival: Street Spot: Nicolas DeGrazia, Daniel Kullman, Nick Pullia, Russell Jenkins,Producers. Bitter Jester Creative and Ravinia Festival
  • Ravinia Festival: Home Spot: Nicolas DeGrazia, Daniel Kullman, Nick Pullia, Russell Jenkins, Producers. Bitter Jester Creative and Ravinia Festival.

Category #22-b- Outstanding Crafts Achievement Off-Air: Director – Post-Production.

  •  Matthew Hoffman – Dance For Life. HMS Media
  • Steve Weiss – bts: Chasing The Light. Zacuto Films.  Also, Editor: program, non news

Category #27-a- Outstanding Crafts Achievement Off-Air: Writer – Program (non-news).

  • Phillip Ranstrom – Cheat You Fair: The Story of Maxwell Street. Big Shoulders Digital Video Productions
  • Jim Disch – Fr. Augustus Tolton. Archdiocese of Chicago Radio-TV Office.


Click here for the complete list of nominees.

The 54th annual 2012 Chicago/Midwest Emmy Awards Ceremony takes place Nov. 18 at Alhambra Palace, 1240 W. Randolph, hosted by Sun-Times columnist Richard Roeper.  The soiree starts with 4:30 p.m. cocktails, 5:30 p.m. dinner and 7 p.m. Awards Ceremony.