2019 Emerging Cinematographers Awards

The International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) presents the 2019 Annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards (ECA) spotlighting promising cinematographers and providing crucial exposure needed to succeed in the motion picture industry.

Now in its 23rd year, the Emerging Cinematographers Awards are the only awards in the industry that specifically celebrates the work of up-and-coming cinematographers, helping to nurture their talent and showcase their work

The collection of 10 selected short films will screen at the Logan Theatre, 2646 North Milwaukee Ave. in Chicago, on Nov. 3, 2019, starting at 3 p.m. A cocktail reception will follow.

ICG National President Lewis Rothenberg said, “The quality of the work of these amazing young artists is incredible. It is exciting to see the great diversity of their films and we are honored to recognize their unique talents and support their future careers.”

As part of its national tour, the ECA debuted in Los Angeles on Oct. 6, 2019, at the Saban Media Center’s Wolf Theatre and honored writer/director Patty Jenkins, best known for Wonder Woman, Monster and The Killing, with the inaugural Distinguished Filmmaker Award presented by Panavision.

The ECA also honored cinematographer John Simmons, ASC, with the ASC Cinematography Mentor Award and journalist Debra Kaufman with the Technicolor William A. Fraker Award during a kickoff luncheon on Friday, October 4, 2019.

The ECA will also be held in New York City on Oct. 27, 2019 at the SVA Theatre. Additional screenings will take place in Atlanta at SCADshow on Nov. 3, 2019 and at the EnergaCAMERIMAGE in Toruń, Poland, November 9-16, 2019.

Daniel Bombell, Present Day, Athens
Tinx Chan, Empty Skies
Marcos Durian, Fish Head
Chad Erickson, Eddy
Geoff George, My Blood
Shannon Madden, Scratch
Bongani Mlambo, The Coin
Jared Moossy, A Lucky Man
Claudio Rietti, Kid Boxer
Alejandro Wilkins, El Gallo


ALSO READ: Local 476 Studio Mechanics keep moving the earth

The chairs of the Guild’s ECA committee are cinematographers Jimmy Matlosz and Steven Poster, ASC, past ICG National President.

The ECA gives Local 600 members an opportunity to present themselves as directors of photography by submitting a short film with a running time of 30 minutes or less for consideration. The awards are open to any member of the Guild who is not already classified as a director of photography.

The films are selected by a panel of ICG members from across the country and can also be seen by a wider audience at selected film festivals throughout the year. Past honorees have since worked on shows including Game of Thrones, Mr. Robot, Vampire Dairies, Queen of the South, CSI, X-Men, The Hunger Games and Star Wars.


Send your award updates to Reel Chicago Editor Dan Patton, dan@reelchicago.com.