Millspaugh & Souders’ entry wins 5 top 48HFP awards

48HFP winners Derek Souders and Lynn Millspaugh

Co-producers/directors Lynn Millspaugh and Derek Souders of Broad Street Films had no expectation of winning a prize in the 48 Hour Film Project contest, much less sweep the competition by winning five top awards.  “We just entered for fun,” they said. 

Their drama, “Double Exposure,”in which an amateur photographer (Best actor S. JanJay Knowlden) takes a picture of a woman that changes her life won Best Film, among the 48 final entries.

Millspaugh and Souders, who started their company only last year, also took home engraved trophies for Best Writing, Cinematography and Music.

Director/editor Jerry Vasilatos, who led the 12th annual 48HFP  event in Chicago, part of a nationally held film endeavor, says he “couldn’t be happier” at the success of the event – the number of entrants and the quality and originality of their work.”

The award ceremony, emceed by Vasilatos, following the 80-minute screening of winners, conferred 15 films that were judged “Best” in 10 categories. 

In addition, recognition was given to five Audience Awards and five Audience Awards Runners Up in each of the five groups of 10 films whose genres encompassed romance, thriller, family, holiday, dark comedy, sci-fi, fantasy, fish out of water, and film de femme.

“Recovery:” a horror film by Back 40 Productions, led by Mitch Apley, won for Best actress/Karin Anglin; Best Editing and Best Use of the Line (“Don’t touch me”) that had to be incorporated in the short and Audience Awards runner-up. 

Filmmaker Jerry Vasilatos produced 2015 48HFP

Best Film Runner Up: “Sweet,” a mockudrama by Playa Peligrosa, also won Best Director/Cameron Downing.

Best Sound Design: “Duet,” a buddy film, by Sixth Floor Cinema; team leader, Brian Peters

Best Graphics: action-adventure “Home Invasion,” by Kick A Rock’s” Sergio Torres, who was also its writer, director and editor.  

Best Special Effects and Best Use of Prop: Sci-fi “When Are We,” Bargain Secrets Productions; team leader, Eric Martin.

Best Costumes: Buddy film “Duet,” by Sixth Floor Cinema

Best Use of Character: “Fare Thee Well” by Definition Studios; team leader Richard E. Calk III.

Audience Awards:

Group A “ProStarz Video.Pro” by Seriously Nobody Cares About Your Red Camera, teamer leader, Renato Velarde.

Group B: “Bestest Friends” by Falling Light Entertainment, team leader,  Evan Frystak.

Group C: “The Small Accordion” by Ugly Sweater Entertainment, team leader, Spiro Slavelis.

Group D: “Kinda Sorta” by David Skaggs Films.

Group E: “Some Buddies” by Blacklight Entertainment; team leader, Colby Campbell

Audience Award Runners Up: “Duet;” “Sweet;” “Home Invasion,” and “Brothers.” 

Judges were Amy Guth, WGN Radio; Adam Fendleman,; Emily Oscarson, IFP administrator; Laura Darner, costume and wardrobe designer and Ruth L Ratny,