Seven doc teams tapped for Chicago Good Pitch

Scene from Good Pitch Chicago doc “Becoming Bulletproof”

The Good Pitch Chicago Planning Committee chose seven documentary film teams out of more than 100 submissions from first-time to award-winning filmmakers –including activist Gloria Steinem — to participate in the inaugural Good Pitch Chicago.

The Good Pitch for institutional funding for worthy project will be held Oct. 22 at the Chicago Cultural Center before an interested live audience.

The seven participants are:

“Dreamcatchers,” director, Kim Longinotto; producers Lisa Stevens, Teddy Leiferasst and John Stack.

“Sister,” director Rebecca Parrish; producers Nicole Bernard-Reis and Danny Alpert.

“The Homestretch,” directors, Anne de Mare and Kirsten Kelly; executive producers, Gordon Quinn, Justine Nagan.

“Becoming Bulletproof,” director Michael Barnett; producer, 
Theodore James.

“Strong Island,” director Yance Ford; producer Esther Robinson.

“Private Violence,” director Cynthia Hill; producers Kit Gruelle, Gloria Steinem and Cindy Waitt.

“The Message: The (R)evolutionary Power of Climate Change,” director Avi Lewis; producer Joslyn Barnes; outreach Katie McKenna.

The participants offer an in-depth investigation and unique perspective on some of our country’s most pressing social issues, such as climate change, domestic violence, homelessness and the racialization of our criminal law system, the Chicgo founding committee said in a statement. 

“The filmmakers will be given intensive training by the Good Pitch people, two each coming here from London and Los Angeles, to prepare for the day,” said committee member Justin Nagan of Kartemquin. 

An outreach coordinator will work with local foundations, philanthropists, corporations and other known arts funders to participate as potential project contributors.

“We fully expect every film in the pitch will walk away with some kind of help, whether it’s a financial or a partnership with another organization,” said Scott Cohen of Cohen Law Group, another committee member.  “Every film gets something by being in the pitch.”

The Commmittee consists of Danny Alpert, Kindling Group; John Murray and Paula Froehle, Tribeca Flashpoint Media Arts Academy; Erin Sorenson, Third Stage Consulting, and Nagan and Cohen.